How I started to read “NY Times”

Summer 2010. It was a hot summer time and full of fears about a new place; moreover, Queens College looked like a big, foreign and non-friendly place where professors were mean and students were lost.

I remember that time when I opened a door and it was a lady in the classroom reading “NY Times”.

She looked at me and said, “Hello. I will be your professor. Sit down.” Then she was back to her reading; she was a very strict woman in her 50s and possessed herself as a mean one. She always said that “Every single immigrant should…must and have to read newspapers… every single day to pass CAT [CUNY Assessment Test].” She was so mean with a student who didn’t know the last news. She required to talk with her about education, politics, world news every single day in English (!!!). She was frowning if we came without papers or did not read them at all…

After few days I realized that I will be on a big *&# if I will not accept her rules. Thanks God, we have free “Times” in Student Union, Diner and Library, so every day I sat before class and read sentences that I did not really understand. But what she said, “You have to read and your memory will remember how to write and construct sentences” and yeees, she was right again. Do you know what… I started to understand what authors talked about… I started to remember fancy sentences with a lot of political, economical terminology… I realized that I can write better after reading “Times” before the class… and I realized that my short experience is nothing comparing with prof. Horowitz experience with immigrants and ESL [English as Second Language] students.

Sometimes you love to argue with professors but from my point of view, you just need to catch their style and trust them [Sure, not all of them]. Based on my experience, I just want to thank this woman that she instilled me to read “New York Times” every single day on the bus, train, cafe or library. Despite the fact that it was a painful experience for me, it was a perfect example how to accustomed and understand language and culture. Professor Horowitz, maybe you do not read blogs but anyway… I want to say you “Thank you” for your help and strictness; it was a good experience…why good? because you were my first professor in Queens College. Wish you to have a good health, patience and a lot of students who will appreciate you after reading “NY Times.”

PS. Smile for me please.

